…Then I see This: “Did God Answer Your Prayers?”

April 7, 2016

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/5/0/f/a/11949860471360872714teiera_tazza_architetto__01.svg.thumb.png

Thursday

https://i2.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/3/4/c/2/119710733034108089johnny_automatic_a_dog_and_a_cat_with_an_umbrella.svg.med.png“May those you love bring love back to you,
and may all the wishes you wish come true!”*


    https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.png  I meant to come here earlier this evening to write another entry in this blog but was side-tracked for awhile.  Then, as I thought things over, I decided I really didn’t feel like trying to think up anything to put on here, after the hours I’d spent writing 3 other entries, and sprucing up some old entries.  That is, until I was over on Facebook, and saw a question being asked of us, concerning God answering our prayers. 

     https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngThat jogged my memory enough for me to remember that, at one point earlier today, I had wanted to write about at least two separate times that God had answered my prayers, to the point at which I could not deny what He’d done, it was so blatantly obvious. His answering those two prayers also constituted Him actually performing a miracle in order to make the answers come about.  So, they do qualify to be recounted here under the heading of “Miracles”.

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngThe first answered prayer involved a sweet little pup named Tinker.  She didn’t belong to us, but we were taking care of her for awhile, since her owner couldn’t at the time.  She was supposedly a pure bred Rottweiler, and her owner had thought she was, until after he purchased her, and realized the breeder had apparently hoodwinked him.  Unfortunately, she turned out to be no more a pure bred than I am, to put it bluntly.  I’m what they call a “Heinz 57”, and so was Tinker.  But, that’s nothing at all, because her owner loved her dearly. 

     https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngThey had formed a bond so strong between them, that, when she began to have real problems with her legs, and was suffering very badly from the intense pain, and could barely walk, let alone make it up and down the few front steps we have here, so she could go outside and tend to business, her owner was faced with a very grim, heart-wrenching decision:  Could she continue on, although in such pain, or did she need to be put down because her disabilities were just too grave?

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngOne afternoon, as I was thinking about Tinker’s health problems, I asked my husband what the Vet had told her owner about her prognosis.  That’s when his answer to my question stunned me, because I honestly had not been expecting such a harsh verdict to have been handed down by her Vet.  He told me that they feared she needed to be put down due to what was wrong with her legs.  Inside, my heart sank into the floor, as I knelt down and was petting her as he said what he did about the grimness of her future.  As what he said about that sank in, and I continued petting her, inside I felt this gigantic desire to plead with God to help her, to spare her life, so she could live happily here with her owner, whom she loved, and who loved her beyond measure. 

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngAs that desire to ask God to help Tinker welled up from within my heart, I was both confident in asking Him, as well as a bit confused, since many Christians believe that it’s improper for us to pray for our animals like that.  Asking God to help a dog or a cat, in some Christian circles, is simply outrageous, so is never done.  I knew about that, yet I had never even given it enough thought before to come to any personal conclusions of my own about it, so I was unsure about whether or not God would want us to pray for our animals that way.  I already knew that Catholics both prayed for animals, as well as blessed them.  Yet, I was not a Catholic.  However, as I considered that whole subject while kneeling down by Tinker’s side, petting her, the desire to ask God to help her continued to grow stronger and stronger.

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngFinally, as I looked down at Tink, then up towards heaven, I felt God was in the process of answering that question.  I remember telling the Lord that, if He disapproved of what I was about to ask of Him, would He please forgive my ignorance.  Then, I bowed my head, and before I could even think of the right and best words to say to God about Tinker, the words simply flowed out from within me, and it was as though they went straight up to God’s ears as soon as I said them!  I then drew in a breath, and held it, hoping and hoping that it meant what I thought it meant: That, He had wanted me to ask Him to help Tinker, and because of that fact, that He fully intended to do just that!  As I remember that, chilblains are running up and down my arms, it’s so overwhelming to me! 

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngI never said one word to anyone about the prayer asking for God to help Tinker, and I even tried not thinking about it, hoping something would just happen that would prove to me that God honestly did initiate the desire I’d had to ask Him to help her.  I kept an eye on her, though, as the days went by, but saw no change for nearly one whole week.  For 6 days she continued having a horribly hard time walking down the steps, out into the yard, and the return trip was even harder on her.  She was a game little pup though, and she really wanted to be out there with the other 3 dogs we had here at that time.  They were all older than she was, and I could tell that she wanted so badly to be able to run around the yard as they did.  It was very hard to see how badly she wanted to do just that.  She just couldn’t, due to the pain from her legs.

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngThat following Sunday made it 7 days since I’d asked God to help Tinker, but I still saw no change that morning.  Before noon, her owner came by to check on her and his other dog who also was staying with us.  After we chatted for awhile, I was walking him to the door when all the dogs suddenly wanted outside.  So, while we were still talking, I automatically just opened the door to let them out, and out they ran, including Tinker!  At first, as I was listening to what her owner was saying, I hadn’t completely noticed that Tinker had RUN outside with the others.  She hadn’t struggled down the steps, either, she’d bounded down them!  Once I realized that, I was about to try and get her owner’s attention, so I could point that out to him, when he suddenly said, “Is that Tinker out there on the picnic table?”

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngYes–it WAS Tinker, and she was on top of the long, wooden picnic table out in the yard!  She had never been able to get up there before that day!  She was also barking, and playing to her heart’s content with all the other dogs!  It was a MIRACLE!  And, God had performed it.  He’d waited 7 whole days to do so, but He finally answered the prayer, and there was Tinker, playing as though nothing had ever been wrong with her!  I tried to explain about my praying, asking God to please help her so that he wouldn’t need to have her put to sleep, but her owner just waved me off, saying, “Yeah, ok….”, as though he thought I was just some nut who actually believed in that nonsense about God performing miracles. 

      https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngThat made me feel just awful, and so sad inside, but I needed to remember that he was not a believer in Jesus as his Savior, so of course miracles seemed like sheer nonsense to his mind.  Remembering that helped me, since it is true, but it also didn’t mean the end of the world.  He might still believe in the Lord some day, so I needed to keep that uppermost in my mind, and not give in to feelings of hopelessness and despair over it.  Instead, I needed to say a huge “Thank You!” to the Lord for what He’d just done for little Tinker!  I was so utterly grateful to Him, that no other words, other than those, came to my mind, so I just told Him “Thank You!” over and over again!  I felt myself smiling, as well, like never before, as I watched Tinker out there, running, jumping and having the best of times with her other playmates.  It was wonderful!

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.pngThey say the way you can tell if something is a genuine miracle from Almighty God, or is a counterfeit one from the devil to fool you, is if what was done stays done.  The devil’s handiwork comes undone at some point, because it’s fakery done by him to fool you into thinking you’ve asked the right person for help–him.  Which, of course, is truly nonsense!  I will add this, about Tinker’s healing–she stayed strong, and basically healthy enough, for years afterwards.  So, I’d definitely say that what happened was a genuine miracle from the Almighty, and no counterfeit healing at all.  So, Alleluia!  And, praise His Holy Name Forever More!  Amen!

   https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.png   I’ll write about the second answered prayer in my next entry, God willing always.https://i2.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/3/4/c/2/119710733034108089johnny_automatic_a_dog_and_a_cat_with_an_umbrella.svg.med.png

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/n/i/r/i/5/L/swan-th.png“Until we meet again, May God hold you in the palm of His hand*.” {Amen}https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/c/e/9/9/11971038001551449247johnny_automatic_bedtime.svg.med.png

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/K/g/P/8/D/t/la-tour-eiffel-eiffel-tower-hi.png   https://i2.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/2/A/g/l/k/d/dog-and-a-girl-md.png

 

*{  http://tacomaweekly.tripod.com/Irish-Quotations.html  }

Leave a Reply

