“I Want My Puppy Back!” {Pt.2}

April 11, 2016

https://i2.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/4/l/V/C/Z/L/pot-th.png

“Monday, Monday…”

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  I forgot to explain that, this is my telling of the story surrounding what happened that led up to the second of the two outright miracles that I, personally, could never deny were performed by God.  Both incidents are actually way too obviously supernatural in nature to be counted as mere coincidences, even to someone who does not have my faith in God and Christ. 

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.pngBoth incidents took a genuine act of outside intervention, of some kind, in order for them to have taken place.  I say it was God who did it.  Others might say it was “Providence”.  Or, their idea of a “Higher Power”.  Fine, no problem.  So long as the fact that some ‘outside force’ is acknowledged as being responsible, at least I can take a modicum of comfort in the realization that ‘intellectual honesty’ is actually being exercised in this case.  Faith will need to be left up to the Almighty.  That’s simply a fact of life, so I’m just letting you know that I understand as much.

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  To both of us, having all 4 large dogs in our daily lives was no hardship whatsoever, and they brought us nothing but joy, and lots and lots of love.  When we first bought this house we live in now, it had been our first chance to finally own another dog, so when one dog eventually became 4 dogs, it simply enlarged our lives, and this house has one of the largest yards in our neighborhood, so it was nearly perfect for all those dogs to roam around in, and play in to their heart’s content.  I say it was almost perfect, because it’s drawback was it’s location: it was, and still is, our front yard, not our back yard.  We live on a corner lot in a very small neighborhood, with a very large, grassy, open-space park, or field as we called them where I grew up in California, directly across the street. 

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png So, the yard is literally in full view on two streets, and by our next-door neighbors.  But, our backyard is such a tiny one that, most of the time, we allowed the dogs access to both yards, after we fenced in the front yard, using what is called ‘wire over split-rail’ fencing.  The split-rail fencing was already here when we bought the house, but it was never meant to keep dogs inside of the yard.  It was put in for it’s looks alone, I’m sure!  However, the wire fencing we had to install against the split-rail fencing was, of course, see-through.  That was fine, in a way, since most Dobermans are not jumpers.  They seem to generally want to remain within the confines of their own ‘territory’, not jump out of it.  It was the same for the Rottweilers who stayed with us, including little Tinker. 

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  The most trouble we had usually came from either the neighborhood children, who truly disliked being barked at by our dogs, so I would sometimes catch them throwing rocks at the dogs when they thought no one was looking[!], and/or other dogs, who were roaming loose.  It also included the one who was on a leash at the time, but who’s owner decided to allow her dog, a Dalmatian, to go after Moosie right through the wire fencing!  I think Moose outweighed her Dal by about a 100 lbs., but I could do nothing to stop what was going on, and, from the smile on her face, apparently she had no intention of stopping it! 

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.pngSo long as I was out in the yard with the dogs, though, I think they all felt a bit more secure.  Being out there with them also helped me to try and head off any trouble from even beginning, if I could spot it’s potential in time.  Especially, where the rock-throwing kids were concerned…[sigh]!  I had tried to speak to them about the difference between our dogs, and dogs they seemed so fond of, such as Labradors.  They’d ask me questions such as why did our dogs always bark at them, and why were our dogs, whom they told me were ‘mean’, so unfriendly towards them?  I could only hope what I said to them helped them understand the differences between the dog breeds, even just a little bit.  As they say, “Every little bit helps!”   I hope so!

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  One of the most precious things ever said to me by any child came one afternoon, as I was attempting to explain to the children why our dogs seemed so ‘mean’ to them.  After I’d spoken to them for a short while, they decided to go and play down the street.  One little guy was still talking to me as the other boys began leaving.  At one point he mentioned something about the size of our yard, so I asked him how big he thought it really was.  That’s when he said, “Your yard is SO big, you could keep a bear in there!”  I still get this giant smile on my face every time I think of him saying that, it was just so preciously cute!  Our yard is very big compared to almost all the yards in this neighborhood, but I really think a bear might find it too confining for it’s taste!  Art Linkletter was definitely right, though–“Kids Say The Darndest Things!”

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  When Moosie died at age 7, though, my heart nearly died with him.  His death was so unexpected, but so quick that we had no time to react at all.  He died nearly on the day that Pope John Paul II passed away, which makes it easier for me to remember the date through association.  That was also a little over a year before Bobby was killed.  That morning, Moosie was up before the other dogs even stirred.  He came over to me as I sat on the couch, and as I petted his huge head I realized that he seemed to have this far-away look in his eyes, as though seeing from this world into the next, and it startled me.  He was acting sluggish, too, so I knew I needed to talk to Bob about taking him to the Vet as soon as we could.  That’s just about when all of the other dogs had gotten up, and had suddenly decided they wanted outside.  Moosie looked as though he was not feeling up to going outside, so I got up to let the other 3 out, but as soon as I opened the door, they all ran outside, including Moosie, who appeared to be feeling fine by that time.  That was such a relief to me!

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  Instead of accompanying them all outside, I decided that, first, I’d get a cup of coffee, so I went into the kitchen.  As I was standing near the coffee maker, I remember feeling so worried about how ill Moosie had looked, when suddenly, a verse from the Bible came into my mind so strongly it startled me.  It was from the book of Revelation, chapter 1, and it’s where the Lord Jesus is telling the apostle John exactly who He is, and He says, that, among other things, He has”…the keys of hell and of death.“.  Which means that He holds the power over life and death for everything and everyone.  I was startled when that verse came to my mind so vividly the way it did, and I didn’t know what to make of it at first.   So, I found myself softly saying to the Lord, “Oh, I know that, Lord”, as I tried to understand why He would remind me of that verse at that time.  That’s when I heard Moosie. He had run around to the back yard to bark at the neighbor’s big, male Rottweiler through the wooden fence that separated their yard from ours.  It was something he did nearly every morning, almost ritualistically.  I smiled, because I thought that meant that he was feeling so much better.

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  As I left the kitchen for the living room, I suddenly heard Kelly, Moosie’s mother, whining frantically out by the front door.  I looked out there and saw her running from the yard back up to the front porch, then back to the yard, whimpering.  That’s when I realized what I was looking at, what she was wanting me to see.  It was Moosie.  He had run around to the front of the house, and collapsed right near the front walkway!  I began shouting for my husband to come out there quickly, that something had happened to Moosie.  He came as fast as he could, and when he went out to check on Moosie, he realized he was gone.  That he’d died that quickly, right on the spot where he’d fallen down.  {I’m getting tears in my eyes just remembering all of that.} 

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.pngAs I stood there, looking out at Moosie laying on the ground that way, the words from that verse in the book of Revelation echoed back through my mind, and I realized then that the Lord had given me that verse to help prepare me for what was about to happen.  Plus, since Jesus does hold the keys to our very lives in His loving and capable hands, which also includes His power over our deaths, then I realized that He had been telling me something else, as well.  That, it was His wish that Moosie leave us here on this earth, to be with Him there in heaven, for what reason[s] only He knows right now.  However, in a way, it ties in with other things that were about to happen in our lives, all within the span of a few months time.  So by this time in my life, what happened that day with Moosie, is showing me even more clearly just how much the Lord truly does love and care for us all, and that includes our beloved pets.  Whether it appears that way to us, at the time, or not, He does love all of us.

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/1/d/k/0/5/q/teacup-th.png  My receiving that timely verse from God’s word just in time to help prepare me, even just a little bit, for Moosie’s death, could be considered miraculous alright, but it’s not the miracle I’m going to speak about, that left no doubt in my mind at all just who was behind it.  I’ll continue all of this soon enough.  I have to go for now.

Good-bye for a short while, God willing always, and God bless you very much.

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/3/4/c/2/119710733034108089johnny_automatic_a_dog_and_a_cat_with_an_umbrella.svg.thumb.png  “May you always have walls for the winds,
a roof for the rain, tea beside the fire,
laughter to cheer you, those you love near you,
and all your heart might desire.”                                  https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/c/9/7/l/H/r/celtic-shamrock-th.png

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/s/4/o/p/v/k/hearts-eiffel-tower-md.pnghttps://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/5/0/0/X/u/H/walking-dog-md.png

Leave a Reply

