“I Want My Puppy Back!” {Pt.3}

April 14, 2016

https://i2.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/k/x/v/i/o/M/swimming-swan-th.png

Thursday

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png  The day that Moosie died, we had no idea where to take him to be buried, or cremated, since it was a Saturday morning, and calling our Vet only led to an answering service.  The woman who answered for the phone service for the Vet told us to call the local animal control guy in our town.  So, my husband did that, and the man told him he couldn’t take Moosie’s body since he didn’t have any more room in his freezer, because, as he put it, his freezer was “full of cats”!  Finally, after asking my husband to please place a blanket over Moosie’s body, and to be sure the other dogs remained inside the house, I tried calling the number of a man near by who raised horses, hoping against hope that he might be able to help us figure out what to do with poor Moosie’s body.  After all, Moosie did weigh a whopping 180 lbs. according to the Vet, so simply burying him here on our property seemed impossible, although we did think about it for a few minutes until we finally realized the futility of it all!

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png   The man I spoke to on the nearby horse farm was very sympathetic and he told me he would be glad to help us bury Moosie, and we could even bury him there on his property, because he’d just buried one of his horses using his backhoe.  However, he’d loaned out the backhoe, so he couldn’t help us right away.  Disappointed, I told him thank you anyway, and hung up.  That’s when my husband found a Vet hospital across the river from us in Delaware, that would be able to cremate Moosie that afternoon, if we could drive his body over to them.  So, my husband struggled to pick Moosie’s body up, but managed to, then managed to get him into the van, and over to the Vet hospital.  They sent my husband home with Moosie’s collar, and some paperwork on his cremation, and I will keep that forever.  

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png   Having Moosie die so quickly like that traumatized both of us, but it really traumatized his mother, Kelly, even more.  Kelly had always been the picture of health her entire life.  That is, until Moosie died.  Being as large as he was, Moosie had some problems with his hips early in his life, due to the rate at which he was growing.  The Vet had given him some medicine for it, but she told us that he couldn’t take it forever, and would need to come off of it rather soon after being put on it.  But, that it might help him over the roughest period of his rapid growth.  If so, she said he might be fine for most of his life.  And, sure enough, that was the case, until he was about 4 or 5 years old.  After that, I had to give him a ‘doggie’ aspirin each day, otherwise his hips would begin to give him trouble as he tried to walk.  But, the aspirin worked wonders for him, so he lived fairly pain free for the last few years of his life.

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png   However, the day he died, suddenly his mother began favoring her back legs, and she began walking the way Moosie had walked when he needed one of those chewable aspirins.  At first, I thought it was just my imagination, but it actually wasn’t!  She really had begun walking the same way Moosie had, as though now her back legs hurt her as well!  I thought that had to be impossible, yet I was looking right at it each time Kelly would be outside!  I remembered that, about an hour after Moosie died, I was sitting in the dining room, and Kelly was with me.  I looked over at her and noticed that she seemed to be staring intently at something way up by the ceiling.  I looked and could see nothing there.  I watched her as she just stared up at the ceiling, as though she could see what I couldn’t see.  She also seemed to be reacting what whatever it was that she seemed to see up there. I finally came to the conclusion that God might be allowing her to see Moosie, who was now up there with Him!  I couldn’t explain it otherwise!  To me, that, in itself, qualifies as miraculous, however it’s not the second unmistakable miracle that I am going to speak about.  It does show, however, that divine miracles come in all sizes and shapes, and often in the most unexpected ways.

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png   Kelly lived only a few months longer after we lost Moosie, and it must have been her heart that gave out.  We have recently been told about the heart problems that Dobermans so often suffer from, which does help explain why Moosie suddenly died the way he did.  The Vet told Bob that, more often than not, a Doberman will succumb to a heart problem rather than from almost anything else.  So, it might also help explain what happened to his mother, Kelly, only a few months later.  Remembering all of that makes me cry.  The night that Kelly died, it was a Sunday evening.  She was having a horrible time breathing, and she kept pacing back and forth.  I thought she might have come down with some kind of lung infection, because she also kept coughing, although not allot.  I kept trying to get her to lay down, but she refused.  I was beginning to panic over it, because I was home alone, with my husband, Bob, who is a trucker, having left for a trip over the road.  So, I called him on his cell phone, and told him what was going on with Kelly, and as I was speaking to him, Kelly began to struggle to breathe even more than she had been.  I became so upset I was practically hysterical, as I tried to tell him what was happening to her!  I can’t even remember how I got Bobby on the phone during that awful period as Kelly was struggling just to stay alive, but I do remember screaming as she fell onto the floor, and had  a convulsion, then she died!  I wonder now how Bobby kept from having a broken eardrum I screamed so loudly!

 https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png    I don’t even remember if I was on a 3-way call, somehow, with Bobby, and his dad at the same time, or whether I first spoke to Bob, then to Bobby, then to Bob again right after Kelly passed away, I was so distraught!  But, I remember that Bob told me to get a blanket and cover her, and that he would do his best to come by the house as soon as he could the next morning, and take her over to the Vet hospital in Delaware, to be cremated.  In the mean time, I was so in shock it was a wonder I could sleep at all!  But, I think I was also so exhausted that sleep was all I could do after that. 

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png   I also couldn’t quite believe the fact that, within just a few short months both of our beloved Dobermans were gone!  I wondered how in the world I’d get along without them.  We still had Bear and Ruby, and that was a comfort.  But, to have lost both of our Dobes so quickly was just mind-numbing!  At first, I blamed myself, as though I’d somehow been responsible, but we’d done everything we could for both of the dogs.  Yet, I kept blaming myself for not spotting what was wrong with them both before it was too late.  Now, though, years later, a Vet has finally informed us about the heart troubles that he said most Dobermans die from even before help can reach them.  He said more often than not, heart failure takes them, not diseases.  So, I can finally stop blaming it all on myself, on my incompetence.  Especially because we just recently lost another Doberman to the exact same thing, only this time he was at the Vet’s when his heart trouble was spotted.  The only humane thing, according to the Vet, was to put him to sleep.  Otherwise, he would only suffer as his heart grew weaker.  I still can’t believe it to this day, either, that we thought all he had was a cold of some kind.  And, taking him to the Vet for it ended with him never coming home again! 

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png   You know how they always say that, when you lose a pet you need to turn right around and get another one?  Sort of like, when you fall off a horse you need to get right back on it, or you’ll soon become too afraid to get back up in that saddle ever again.  Well, I think this last loss might be near the end for me.  I’m getting way too old, and worn out, or at least maybe my heart has become worn out, to the point that I don’t think I can do that now.  I think maybe Major, our lovable, but volatile, slightly mixed up Mutt, is our last dog.  He’s still fairly young, but once he’s gone, I think I’ll be hanging up the leashes for good, at last.  It’s way too heart breaking to live through losing any more loving, and wonderful companions the way we have over the decades.  I don’t think I can go through all of that again, after Major.  I can only hope and pray that we both outlive him, so that he doesn’t become homeless due to him losing us first!  It’s the same way with our cat.  He might just be the last in a LONG line of felines I’ve had, and loved, down through what seems like the centuries, since I was a little girl who was given her very first kitty-cat to love and to hold, at about age 3.  They all make TOO many lovable pets to lose in one life time!  Well, we’ll see.  Who knows?  Once an pet lover, so owner, maybe always one until your dying day, huh?!

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/q/A/6/U/3/6/doberman-dog-silhouette-th.png Praise our heavenly Father that He knows ‘the end from the beginning’, so helped prepare us, at least a bit, for what was about to overtake us in July of 2006.  Taking our two Dobermans home to be with Him in heaven when He did turned out to help us, because we were about to make two trips down to Louisiana to visit Bobby and his family for Christmas 2005, then again for his memorial after he was killed in Afghanistan.  Both Dobermans hated car trips, and Kelly, especially, would whine and whine until she would nearly drive us to distraction.  I loved her with all my heart, but I truly dreaded having her with us on that long drive down to Ft. Polk that upcoming Christmas.  I would gladly have lived through her endless whining on the trip, though, rather than lose her the way we did.  However, apparently, God had other plans for her, and for us.

https://i0.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/3/4/c/2/119710733034108089johnny_automatic_a_dog_and_a_cat_with_an_umbrella.svg.thumb.png ” May God grant you many years to live,
For sure he must be knowing.
The earth has angels all too few.
And heaven is overflowing. ”

https://i2.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/s/4/o/p/v/k/hearts-eiffel-tower-hi.png

https://i1.wp.com/www.clker.com/cliparts/D/b/o/a/v/K/victorian-couple-md.png

Leave a Reply

