Ah…The Ballet!

November 25, 2016

“Friday’s child is loving and giving…”      

       

And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.” [Colossians 3:17 AKJV] 

 

       

 

 

       

       

       

   Paul wrote that song–wow!  They gave it to Peter and Gordon to record, though, but wow, it was one of my very favorite songs!!!  The version in the video below is not the Beatles, or Peter and Gordon, though–I wish it was the Beatles!  It apparently isn’t, even if it does say “Original Demo”:

 

  I think I was born wanting to be a Ballerina.  I tried begging my mom to let me take lessons, but to no avail.  She was by then a single mom, with 3 small children to take care of, who had to move in with her parents, just so that we could survive.  So, when she landed a job working for PT&T[Pacific Telephone & Telegraph], and had to travel for her new job, from where my grandparents lived, all the way to San Francisco on all the days she worked, making entry-level pay more than likely, there was just no way she could afford for me to enroll in Ballet classes.

   However, even though I was only around 5 years old, I couldn’t quite let go of the dream.  So, often times, whenever photographs would be taken of me and my brother and sister, I could be found trying to strike a dancer’s pose.  When I see those photos now I cringe!  I looked a bit ridiculous, but I just couldn’t help trying to get my plug in for me to take dance lessons!  It never did any good, though.  My mom just could never afford it.  

  Mom always tried to get us fitted for the best shoes she could afford back then.  My favorite shoes to wear to school were black patent leather flats.  I always felt like a princess when wearing the ones mom got for me.  I was probably around 5 years old at the time.  However, I was also a terrible Tomboy, who loved climbing trees, riding my bike, and running ‘like the wind’ through the elementary school’s wide-open fields out behind my grandparent’s home.  So, at school I was ‘the little princess’, but at home, I was the ‘terrible Tomboy’.  

   That’s why my favorite ‘after school’ shoes were brown or black and white Saddle shoes.  My after school ‘uniform’ was always those Saddle shoes and a pair of Bermuda shorts–in case a tree needed climbing.  I also continually tried my ‘hand’ at doing what I considered ‘Ballet’ exercises.  I really had no idea what real Ballet exercises were, so I made some up for myself to practice diligently, and as often as I could.  One was to place my leg up on a dresser[if I could get it up that high!], or prop it up on any surface low enough for me to reach my leg up there, and then I’d practice touching my nose to my knee.  I had no idea if that was really an exercise a ballet dancer would ever benefit from, but I became very flexible after doing that over many years.  

     I could eventually touch both palms on the ground, never bending my knees, which helped my team win the Phys. Ed./Physical Training competition in Army Basic Training.  It enabled me to be capable of running ‘4-legged’ very fast without any stress on myself at all.  I still cringe at what happened at our graduation from Training party, though.  My Platoon Sergeant had noticed how flexible I was during that competition, so she told our Captain, who suddenly decided she wanted to see me run like that–in front of all the ladies/girls at our Platoon party.  So, not wanting to object to what the Captain wanted to see me do, I did that–I ran a few yards like that, much to her total surprise.  I guess she’d never seen anyone capable of doing that without bending their knees!

   Well, at least working on that particular exercise had earned me some measure of ‘fame’, albeit somewhat dubiously.  That was about the only exercise I’d ever done, though, that I thought a ballerina might do, to keep herself limber.  I never could ‘assume’ any real ballet positions. Once I learned what some of those ‘positions’ were, I was older and far less flexible, so I couldn’t quite get my stiffened muscles to cooperate enough so that I could place my feet and legs into those positions.  After I realized that it truly saddened me!  I had to admit that I was probably a bit too old to ever be capable of learning ballet, and also be capable of executing those important positions correctly.

 I think the saddest time came when I was about 7, and my mom took me and my little brother to the shoe store to be fitted for new shoes.  Mine were going to be brown and white Saddle shoes, and I was excited to get them.  Until, as I sat there, I saw a girl a bit older than myself, who was being fitted for shoes, too.  Only her new shoes were going to be Pointe shoes, or what most people simply think of as Ballet shoes.  When the clerk brought out her new Pointe shoes, my heart hit the ground!  I sat there watching her smile, then try them on, and I thought my heart would burst!     I didn’t want my mom to see how I felt, so I quickly averted my eyes back to the clerk who was bringing me my new Saddle shoes, and tried to put on a smile so mom wouldn’t notice how I really felt.  I may have loved my new Saddle shoes, but the shoes that the ballerina across the aisle was going to get were exactly what I’d always wanted all of my life.  

       

       

       

 

 

 “Any fool can know. The point is to understand.”
~ Albert Einstein~

                                                                                                           

A “White Christmas Knight” Production

 

Leave a Reply

